Popplet: Starting with a Blank Slate

balloon-912841_1920
Silhouette of man with thinking bubbles around him.

Ballon Thought Bubble Head Man” by Gerd Altmann is licensed under CC by 2.0 

Popplet is a Web 2.0 tools for creating concept maps.  Popplet begins with a blank slate on which to do all your thinking without handwritten notes. Easy? Yes. It allows users to easily map ideas and show relationships between different pieces of information. It serves as a visual record of organized ideas and thoughts. Popplet goes beyond just writing or typing.

However, what if you are not a visual learner? What is you do your best work by handwriting or typing notes. What if your blank slate is a piece of paper or blank Word page? I think you can see where I am going with this. I personally am not a visual learner. I do not and have never written by beginning with a storyboard platform. I like to tackle my subject matter one idea at a time, working through it from beginning to end.

For this reason, I found myself developing each idea too thoroughly and not using Popplet for the purpose it was designed for. Personally, I found Popplet to be a hindrance. Although, I can see the advantages of storyboarding and Popplet, I will continue to stick with my blank paper and pen for writing in the future.

One thought on “Popplet: Starting with a Blank Slate

  1. I totally understand your perspective. Its good to start with an overall map before getting started on a project like this (or a bigger endeavor) since its harder and takes a lot of time to make changes after you have already started to build a site/project.

    Like

Leave a Reply

